Google is introducing a new set of features that will make it easier to keep your browsing history private, or wipe it completely. The search engine is kicking off Cybersecurity Awareness Month by rolling out new security features for Google Maps, YouTube and Google Assistant.
The company has also announced that it will be launching an incognito mode for Maps, which will debut for Android devices this month. This feature will be made available to iOS-enabled phones at a later stage.
“When you turn on incognito mode in Maps, your Maps activity on that device, like the places you search for, won’t be saved to your Google Account and won’t be used to personalize your Maps experience,” Google’s Eric Miraglia wrote in a blog post.
Google will also be introducing the same auto-delete feature that can clear your browsing history at an interval of your choosing. “Set the time period to keep your data — 3 months, 18 months, or until you delete it, just like Location History and Web & App Activity — and we’ll take care of the rest,” Miraglia continued.
Lastly, the company will also allow you to wipe recent voice commands and questions sent to Google Assistant without even having to open the app on your phone.
Now you can just say “Hey Google, delete the last thing I said to you” or “delete everything I said to you last week” and that data will be erased. The only drawback with this feature, however, is that no more than a week of search history can be deleted.
Assistant is also now better prepared for a question like “Hey Google, how do you keep my data safe?”
According to Miraglia, the answer you get “will share information about how we keep your data private and secure”.