• Google Translate adds five new languages

    Date:27 February 2020 Author: Kyro Mitchell Tags:,

    After four years since its last language addition, Google Translate has updated its library of languages to include five brand new dialects, bringing the total number of languages you can now translate to 108.

    The new languages added to Google Translate include:
    -Odia, spoken in the Indian state of Odisha.
    -Kinyarwanda, the official language of Rwanda.
    -Turkmen, spoken in Turkmenistan and parts of Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan.
    -Tatar, spoken by Tatars mainly located in modern Tatarstan which is part of the Russian Federation.
    -Uyghur, spoken by the Uyghur Chinese Muslim community.

    The reason Google has only added these relatively uncommon languages now is because there isn’t much web content available on the net to accurately build a database around, which makes it difficult to translate. To get around this problem Google made use of its machine learning technology and combined it with the dedicated Google translate community.

    Out of the five new languages added, Kinyarwanda, Uyghur, and Tatar all support virtual keyboard input, with Google encouraging everyone who speaks these languages to join their languages community to assist in improving the quality of its machine learning translations.

    Image: Pexles