Q My computer tells me that I’m running low on disc space. I’ve deleted files, but the messages won’t stop.
A By default, “deleting” a file moves it to either the Recycle Bin (Windows) or the Trash (Mac OS). In other words, the files haven’t been deleted – they’ve been sent into limbo, to a special folder where they remain fully intact but can’t be directly
accessed. This is a blessing when you realise you’ve accidentally deleted an important file. More often, though, it’s just a waste of space.
Going forward, to free up hard-drive space, right-click on the Recycle Bin or Trash icon and click Empty. Windows users
can bypass the Recycle Bin by selecting a file, holding down Shift, and pressing the Delete key.