• Outbound near-earth asteroid, as seen from Spain

    Date:20 February 2013 Tags:, ,

    This set of images from the La Sagra Sky Survey, operated by the Astronomical Observatory of Mallorca in Spain, shows the passage of asteroid 2012 DA14 shortly after its closest – and safe – approach to Earth. The images were taken around 10:59 pm GMT+2 (12:59 pm PST, or 3:59 pm EST) on 15 February 2013.

    The images have been sped up 10 times.

    In the last set of images, the fainter object that passes near the top of the field of view is a satellite or another asteroid.

    Images courtesy of La Sagra Sky Survey